Getting Started

Soooo…. A new blog that’s going to stay inside photography Smile  My other blog (leaningontheedge.wordpress.com) was actually directed more for technology and consulting but the photo stuff started to dominate, so here we are.

Nothing that’s overly structured in topics or anything – just my ramblings with my jump into Photography in a fairly significant fashion Smile

A long time ago…. I was a very serious amateur photographer.  I come from the world of 35mm using multiple SLR’s and a serious array of lenses.  Circumstances beyond my control put me in a direction away from this fabulous hobby for a lot years.  Not that I stopped taking pictures, just not in a big way.

That was a lot of years ago and about 1 1/2 years ago, I decided to step back in.  The old saying “Time, Money, Opportunity” came into play. 

I had just returned from a short holiday in ‘Vegas and it was during that time when I found that my little pointy shooty just didn’t cut it. Time to upscale.  After a lot of research and studying about the “new stuff”.  What I wanted for my “entry point” camera was something that I could take as part of my daily commute.  It had to be small enough to fit in my daypack along with my notebook, iPad etc., but at the same time, I wanted to ensure that I could get a high quality photo.  Not DSLR level (I probably wont got there for a long while), but high quality enough that I could do some image processing if needed.

The camera I ended up getting was the Fuji X10.   That was a lot of cameras ago, but it’s still my goto camera.  More on that in another post.  I didn’t get thinking about additional equipment for about 6 months at which time, a vacation in Hawaii got me thinking about the next step.

I’ll detail out in the next post – it’s late… and I have work tomorrow…

About gkamitomo
IT Busines Analyst

Leave a Reply

