Automatic, Metering and “Stuff”

So for the first time in a while, we’re seeing some bright sunlight here!!  I’ve been off work for a few days, as my office was in an evacuation zone due to the Bow River  (I’m in Calgary).  I’ve been off work for about a week because of this.  Looks like I might be able to be back on Tuesday.  I’m also getting close to the end of my contract (I’m an IT consultant), so a big part of this week has also been been setting “stuff” to look for work.  Today, was actually the very first day I thought about heading to take pictures.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’ve always had my cameras with me, just mentally – nothing, that I wanted to take photos of, or for that matter, just “wasn’t there for it”, for lack of a better phrase.

As I did my daily routine today, (Its about 11:00 a.m., give or take), I spent the last hour or so “playing” with my Panasonic GX1 and Nikon J1.  You know how you have those days?  Well, I thought it might be nice to take a few shots outside of the house to see how the auto modes worked on both cameras.  I ran into some interesting things with both cameras.  For starters, I had the “shakes”.  Despite the high shutter speeds some of the photos were blurred.  It looked like I was not holding steady enough for starters, I was doing some simple stuff too.  Ugh… I hate when that happens….

Anyway – what I was more interested in, was trying to determine how the auto modes on these units worked compared to my travel cams. First lesson once I checked was was that I had to be a little more cognizant of the metering modes in both units Smile  I tend to use either centre weighted or spot for most of my shots, and I ended up with some pretty washed out photos in certain areas of the pics.  HOWEVER, in saying that, what I did get a clean focus on, was quite good.

I’m going to head out for a bit, so I’ll take the time, to try some other shots first Smile  Back in a bit.  I’m only going to take the GX1 and one of the travel cams.  Back in a bit….

OK – went out and got some groceries and went for a little “jaunt” along one of our bike paths/walkways a tad north of where I live.  I live in one of hillier sections of Calgary and and we have these pathways that run thru our neighbourhood.  You know that saying “familiarity breeds contempt” ?  Well, it’s not quite like that with us, but about the only time we actually go for a walk on these is when we babysit our grandchildren Sad smile  The following pics are about 1/2 km north of my home just off a major street.

These were taken in Programmed Auto (wanted to see how well it worked Smile  Not that bad…..

Nose Hill Walk Way_signNose Hill Creek_2Nose Hill Walk Way_1Nose Hill Walk WayNose_Hill Creek_3Nose_Hill Creek_4

Nose Hill Walk Way_2Nose Hill Creek_1

Hot day out there and muggy – around 22 deg C.  I didn’t stay out that long as I have a bunch to get done today.

Overall, for the GX1, I’m actually pretty pleased with these shots – considering they were in auto mode.  I’ll have to chase more of these later Smile

Onward…..

About gkamitomo
IT Busines Analyst

Leave a Reply

