The Tamron Zoom Addition…Tamron 28-200 LD Aspherical Something….BUT Macro…..

I was mentioning in a previous post that I would be doing this structured test on that Tamron Zoom I got.  Well, forget that :-)  Not gonna happen quite yet :-)  It is planned, but life got in the way ….. AGAIN… :-(    HOWEVER – I did get to do a couple of things with it in my light studio.  I’m also doing a blog entry in my other blog on geeky things that we IT types have and needed some shots for it, so I figured I might as well use the same photos here :-)  The Tamron Zoom photos was shot with my D3200 and Micro Nikkor 40mm f2.8.

Tamron ZoomNow the first thing about this zoom is that it’s actually an AF type zoom not a DX zoom, so everything is manual.  NO AUTOFOCUS.  This is a fully manual lens if you use it  on a Nikon D3200 or D5100.   To make it a little uglier you can only use it programmed auto.  I found it doesn’t allow you use shutter or aperture priority, or not that I could see anyway. I still do have to fiddle with it a bit and do a bit more experimenting, but, for all intents and purposes, it’s more than useable.  It was on a clear out and at $90, it was too good of a bargain to pass up.  The reviews said it was a bit soft, but I took that a little tongue and cheek – for what I wanted to do, which was mostly close up work, I figured if it worked, I saved myself around $600+ on other stuff I could buy later :-)  The original price sticker said $649 CDN, so really….

Full manual…hmmmmm – this brings me back to the 35mm days, Do I care?  Not really.  As much as I like having autofocus going manual has it’s place.  It forces one to set up better.  For things like light box and close up work, it’s something that requires a bit of set up, so it’s not that inconvenient anyway.  Autofocus is actually great to have, but at the same time, it has it’s moments.  I wanted this lens specifically handling close up work and when I got to play with it a bit, this is actually a pretty nice lens.  It’s a big piece of glass with a 72mmfilter size and on a D5100, this actually balances quite nice.  The 55-200 is slightly front heavy, but in the end they are both f3.5. 

Now a quick thought about those zooms – I KNOW that a lot of articles talk about primes being better – I really don’t doubt that in the least – I own two.  The 50mm f1.8 G (it’s also fully manual) and the Micro Nikkor 40mm f2.8. and they are definitely sharper lenses, but I say that tongue and cheek because you actually don’t notice it until you compare REALLY close.  Pixel peeping.  For normal stuff, well – it’s hard to tell the difference.  For the average person like me, well, maybe not so average – I find that having two zooms is more than enough for what I do, and they work fine.  Mind you having two bodies might starting to be a little overkill, but then again, I got the D5100 on a clear out for $399, so whatever….  I was initially planning to get a D7100 with the 18-140, but I would have to save for a while to get that, and I needed the extra body for an upcoming photo shoot and rather than scramble on swapping lenses, this was a good alternative.  Plan worked well.  As much as I wanted the D7100, in the end, I’m actually very pleased with the D5100.  I wanted the articulating screen.  I COULD have probably got the D5200 but at the time, it was a little more than I wanted to spend.  A big decision maker as well – the reviews mentioned that the D5100 was an excellent low light unit, and that proved out at my shoot.  16 Megapixel vs 24 Megapixel, engine differential?  You know what?  So far, it hasn’t been noticeable.  In certain pics the color is a little better than my D3200, but not enough to matter for what I do. 

OK – for the following shots, nothing too spectacular here.  I set up my light studio, set up pretty well lens level and “let her rip”.  I set up aperture to f22 via programmed auto and with some minor cropping got the following shots:

Logix FAn  USB StuffFirbre Optics Z30 and HooTooThe last one – I noticed that the screen on my Z30 was dirty – cured that later 🙂

I was going to do a bit more post work, but decided against that as my other chores needed attention.  More in another post.  Now… moving on.  The one big thing I noticed with this lens is that for certain other shots, it was a bit of a hassle getting it focused – manual thing and it’s on me.  I’m finding that using it handheld is not as easy as my 55-200 – maybe it’s how I’m holding my mouth or something.  I dunno… but we did get a few pretty good ones.  I find I have to take a few more shots.  Tripod would probably cure that, but anyway….

For the moment – onwards.  Duty calls….

About gkamitomo
IT Busines Analyst

Leave a Reply

